McDavid Running Away with Rocket Trophy

The Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy is given to the NHL player each season who scores the most goals. This year Connor McDavid is running away with the award like we have never seen before in the history of the league. The trophy is one of the newer awards given out by the league and has been dominated by Alexander Ovechkin since it was first handed out in 1999.

Alexander Ovechkin won the award an astonishing nine times since 2008 and now McDavid will look to win it for the first time in his career. Auston Matthews won it the previous two years.

McDavid has an 11-goal lead over the next player, David Pastrnak, who has just 49 goals compared to McDavid’s 60. It is a rampant goal-scoring pace for McDavid this season as he already has joined elite company of a small list of players who have ever had 60 goals in a single season. He still is trailing Wayne Gretzky for most all time who scored a ridiculous 92 goals in a season in 1982.

With each team having just about 10 games left, it seems nearly impossible for McDavid to be caught for the Rocket Trophy. To break Gretzky’s record will be nearly impossible for McDavid as well as he would have to score 33 more goals in his remaining 10 games to pass him.

Mainos alkaaError, group does not exist! Check your syntax! (ID: 15)

Photo Credit: